Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You may have read in an earlier post that I had the pleasure of being guest “Artist in Residence” at Cypress Hills Interprovincial Park, Saskatchewan for four weeks (2 in July 2013 and 2 in September 2013). At the completion of my stay, I was asked by the Friends of Cypress Hills Inc. if I would consider leaving a legacy of my stay in the park. It would be something that would contribute to the work in the park and celebrate my time their as an artist.  I said sure! I so enjoyed the time in the park being inspired by the natural beauty of the area which fueled my new body of work.

From the very first time I visited Cypress in 1979 with my elementary school, I had fallen in love with the diverse number of wildflowers in the park. Cypress Hills, Saskatchewan is at a much higher altitude then the surrounding plains. I have been told the highest point is at the same altitude as Banff in our Canadian Rockies in Alberta. Consequently you will find there a variety of wildflowers typically found only in mountainous regions. On a later 2 week stay one May with my then young family of four, I spent a lot of time hiking and photographing these beauties. I was constantly surprised by the new species I was finding. Being there over a 2 week period, it seemed that a whole new selection would crop up as the new week opened.

So when I was asked to leave a legacy, I instantly thought of the wildflowers that caused me to fall in love with the park all those many years ago.  I painted four varieties that visitors to the park would most likely see. The Friends of Cypress will be printing 50 of each of these cards and making them available through the park’s visitor center. The cards will be ready for sale this spring 2013. I hope you will support the Friends of Cypress Park Inc. and the many great projects they carry on for the park. One of my favourites is the observatory which opened in the fall of 2011. You can also name a star in honour of someone you love!

Western Wild Bergamont watercolour N.Jacquin copyright 2012

Western Wild Bergamont watercolour N.Jacquin copyright 2012

Harebell watercolour N.Jacquin copyright 2012

Harebell watercolour N.Jacquin copyright 2012 

Red Indian Paintbrush watercolour N.Jacquin copyright 2012 (2)

Red Indian Paintbrush watercolour N.Jacquin copyright 2012

Cow-parsnip watercolour N.Jacquin copyright 2012

Cow-parsnip watercolour N.Jacquin copyright 2012 

