Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

IMG_0673

The 2013 / 2014 pairing of mentors and trainees participating in the CARFAC Sask mentorship program was featured recently in the CARFAC Sask. Sept. / Oct. 2014 newsletter. Seven mentors worked with 8 emerging Sask. artists. I hope to write more here on my blog about how impactful this program has been for me as an artist although I have been creating full-time for 20 years but mostly in the solitude of my own studio. I heartily recommend this program to other artists!

IMG_0674

This article follows the work carried on through these mentorships over the course of a year and the development of skill and friendship that is cultivated. Pictured here (top) Lee Brady mentor to Sandra Ledingham and (bottom) Gerri Ann Siwek mentor to Traci Foster.

IMG_0675

I am pictured here (right) with my mentor Iris Hauser (middle) and her other trainee Romie Froese (left). This year after having mentored in 8 seperate years, Iris is now a trainee in the 2014 / 2015 Carfac Sask mentorship program working on writing gallery proposals and about her work. Congratulations Iris. This is a much deserved opportunity for you as you have given so much to many other emerging artists!

To learn more about the CARFAC SASK Mentorship Program visit their site at CARFAC.sk.ca .

The Mentor’s and Their Sites:

Lee Brady / Gerri Ann Siwek / Alison Norlen / Jeff Taylor / Iris Hauser / Rigmor Clark / Tamara Rusnak

The Trainees and Their Sites:

Sandra Ledingham / Traci Foster / Bonnie Conly / Charlotte Hauk / Romie Froese / Miriam Korner / Terri Fidelak / and me: Nikki Jacquin

 

 

