Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Windfall Trail, Cypress Hills Sask Side the site of my "Using Your Sketchbook as a Tool to Creativity". What a gorgeous place to inspire!

Windfall Trail, Cypress Hills Sask Side the site of my “Using Your Sketchbook as a Tool to Creativity”. What a gorgeous place to inspire!

 

Well I definitely feel summer is over when I close out my last days of camping for the season in Cypress Hills Interprovincial Park. During my last stay there this year as guest artist in residence, I was treated to some fabulous hot days and a chance to teach a full day workshop for the Maple Creek Art Guild. When I was approach to be the instructor for their annual retreat at Camp Harding in Cypress Hills, Sask. side I suggested several topics and media. They chose my “Using Your Sketchbook as a Tool to Creativity” I spoke and demonstrated then we were treated to a wonderful potluck lunch, then we took our sketchbooks outside to capture some of the beauty of the Windfall Trails. This workshop was partially funded through the Art in the Park project through a Creative Partnerships Grant with Sask Parks, the Friends of Cypress Hills Inc., and funded through Sask Culture, Sask Lotteries, and The Sask Arts Board. Through this funding members of the guild were able to take my workshop at a reduced rate. We had set the max. number of students at 12, but ended up with 14! Great job promoting the workshop art guild members!

This retreat has been an annual event for the guild for the past 20 years. This winter the guild will be hosting the Sask Arts Board permanent collection from mid Oct. to mid Dec., 2013 at the Prairie Sky Gallery inside the Jasper Historical and Cultural Centre in Maple Creek, Sask. The Sask Arts Board is looking for other groups and venues that may be interested hosting the permanent collection. If you would like more information about this opportunity please contact Connie Gibbens one of the guild members at connie_gibbens@yahoo.ca.

Here are a few photos of the day.

2013-08-31_11-31-53_150

The Maple Creek Art Guild joking with me and making me feel welcome during my demonstration.

2013-08-31_11-34-41_7842013-08-31_13-38-56_343

WP_003323WP_003325WP_003337

WP_003340

WP_003343WP_003345WP_003347WP_003339

 

This retreat has been an annual event for the guild for the past 20 years. This winter the guild will be hosting the Sask Arts Board permanent collection from mid Oct. to mid Dec., 2013 at the Prairie Sky Gallery inside the Jasper Historical and Cultural Centre in Maple Creek, Sask. The Sask Arts Board is looking for other groups and venues that may be interested hosting the permanent collection. If you would like more information about this opportunity please contact Connie Gibbens one of the guild members at connie_gibbens@yahoo.ca.

