Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This is the third in a series of interviews I am posting as a way to give you a chance to  meet some of the artist/ students who will be exhibiting at “In Full Bloom” at Government House in Regina, Saskatchewan from Oct. – Dec.,2013. All works by my students were inspired by the 8.5 acres of beautiful Edwardian gardens that surround this historical site and will include methods I taught during a 2 day workshop held in the gardens about new acrylic mediums and methods. I am excited to see what the students have produced and I hope you are curious too and come out to view the exhibit. Kristin tells me she will have 2 – 16″ x 20″ paintings for the show!

My students inspire me too! It was exciting to see how they would take methods I taught and applied or combined them in new and surprising ways. Kristin Marchant is another of my students who started painting with me through my Grumbacher acrylic classes at Michaels in Regina and I am so encouraged that she is taking this opportunity to share her creativity with you during the “In Full Bloom” exhibit. This will be her first public exhibit of her work. Visitors to the show are invited to make comment at the show in a guestbook or here on my blog. I am sure she would love to hear your comments. Following is a brief interview with Kristin:

Kristin Marchant 

WP_003163

Why do you paint?
           K: I’m very new to painting.  I started in fall 2012 as a way to connect with my emotions and express myself creatively during a difficult time.  I spend a lot of time in my work dealing with technical things and find painting to be a great way to find balance.
What are your favorite materials and subjects?
           K: So far flowers are my favourite subject to paint because of the colours and I’ve only really learned to  paint with acrylics although I have played a bit with modeling clay, coloured pencils and pastels.
What are your aspirations for the future and your art?
          K: I plan to take a basic structured art class this fall in acrylic painting and hope to learn more about composition, colour mixing and brush techniques so that I can further develop my art.  Since I’m expecting a baby in January it might be a while after that before I can take more art classes, but I plan to continue painting as much as I can.
Congratulations to you and your hubby Kristin! What a surprise to hear of your news!
Favourite artist or art movement?
         K: I’ve always liked Monet and impressionist painting and just exploring art galleries wherever I go.
About the “In Full Bloom” workshop with instructor Nikki Jacquin and upcoming student exhibition at Gov. House this Oct. – Dec., 2013:
        K: The workshop was a wonderful experience.  I loved painting outdoors in such beautiful surroundings.  I’m looking forward to the exhibition (my first time showing my work) and seeing the different ways everyone was inspired!
Thanks Kristin for painting with me and for taking the time to tell us more about your inspirations! See you soon.
