Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This is a continuation of my last blog post featuring student / artists from my class on acrylic new methods and mediums that was recently held at Government House, Regina and inspired by their 8.5 acres of Edwardian Gardens.

Debbie Hooper

IMG_1538

… is not one of my typical students. Most are happy to gain a new skill and spend some leisure time enjoying that hobby, but Debbie wants to dive in and paint every spare second she can.  She has been a fairly regular student at my Grumbacher beginner and intermediate acrylic classes at Michaels Craft Store, Regina. When I let her know about my workshops at Government House and how she could learn about specialty mediums and expressive methods she was enthusiastically signed up for both full day workshops. I thinking while spending those days painting in the shade of that beautiful garden on Dewdney Ave. in Regina she was bit by a bug. A desire to paint even more.

In July I worked in the Moose Mountain Artists’ Colony, painting and teaching art classes. To my surprise there was Debbie! When a ex-journalist now blogger paid one of my classes a visit, he jokingly referred to her as my groupie : ) It sure is rewarding to have such a devoted, enthusiastic student who is eager to soak up all that I will share. It makes all the hard work and prep worth it! Thank you Debbie for being such a supporter of what I do and for being willing to try all that I teach you. See you Sat. Aug. 31st in Cypress Hills, Saskatchewan!  I will once again be there as Guest Artist in Residence and will be teaching a sold out workshop for the Maple Creek Art Guild, “Using Your Sketchbook as a Tool to Creativity.”

What are your favorite materials and subjects?
D: I am enjoying using acrylics at the moment, but have also dabbled in watercolor and enjoyed it.  My favorite subjects are old windows, doors and staircases.  I have enjoyed the plein air classes at Govt. House with the gorgeous flowers as well.What are your aspirations for the future and your art?

D: I would like to develop a style, something that reflects my inner voice. I would like to work more with abstract concepts and loose style as I tend to listen to the voice of detail and perfectionism.Favourite artist or art movement?

D: At the moment I really love Emile Bellete.  His style is so simple dramatic and color rich.Favourite art quote?

D: Let it be, song by Paul McCartney  Stop, breathe, smile! by myself
Comment about the “In Full Bloom” workshop with instructor Nikki Jacquin and upcoming student exhibition at Gov. House this Oct. – Dec., 2013:
D: I am both excited and a little fearful of the October exhibition.  It is the first time I will have any art on display in a public setting.  It is a wonderful learning opportunity to see the nitty-gritty of the many requirements behind the scenes. I am very appreciative of this teaching.Links where we can find your art:

D: None so far.
Well I am sure that will be changing in the near future. Be sure to forward me the link when you do have your first web site or Facebook page featuring your art!
