Tags

, , , ,

 

 

High rope training in Cypress Hills, SK

High rope training in Cypress Hills, SK

There have been a few changes in Cypress Hills Interprovincial Park, Saskatchewan since my last visit here in Sept 2012 as Guest Artist in Residence. Aside from zip lining through the forest you can now do something called high rope training. If you are this kind of thrill seeker head towards the Cypress Hills Resort and you will see signs to guide you.  I hadn’t noticed this before. As well a go cart business has popped up at the entrance to the park just near the beginning of the Trans Canada Trail East from the core park area.  I also discovered a new hiking trail in the center block of Cypress that I missed last year some how. I had the notion to rent a bike last night and road a rather steep hill up to the resort rental cabin area, through the parking lot. At the north end of the parking lot their was a rather picturesque path that branched out in several directions with foot paths, gravel paths and some paved. I couldn’t follow them all last night so I will have to explore again another day. An active game of beach volleyball was also under way last night at the resort. I might have to check that out since I am missing being part of a team this year. I am sad to report that there is no lady’s night at the golf course this season. That was my first stop in the park even before unloading food in the fridge at the trailer! Oh well maybe someone will come along who would like to play a game of golf.

I have my studio all set up. It is an artist’s working studio. Unlike a gallery space I have both completed works and works in process on display. The corner in which I paint and prepare for classes that I will be teaching while here as Guest Artist in Residence is also visible to those who visit the “Artists’ Cabin” just up the hill from the ice cream shop inside the park entry gate. My regular open studio hours are 1:30 – 3:30 pm Wednesdays – Saturdays until I leave on July 11th, 2013. I will return again August 29th – Sept. 9th, 2013. Any time you see the door open you are most welcome to stop in and visit or preregister for upcoming classes. This year there are many artists who will provide arts programming and conduct their personal art practices from this home base. Thanks to a creative partnerships grant with the Friends of Cypress Hills Ltd., the artists, and The Saskatchewan Arts Board with funding provided through Sask Lotteries and Sask. Culture. I very much appreciate this time to get focus on work that I have been wanting to complete, recently acrylic and oil works on copper of scenes from Cypress Hills, SK. My goal is to have the necessary 15 works in this vein to start approaching commercial galleries for representation.

In the Artists' Cabin at Cypress Hills, Sask.

In the Artists’ Cabin at Cypress Hills, Sask.

Some of my copper works along with the Cypress wildflower cards reproduced by The Friends of Cypress Hills as a legacy of my 2012 stay as Guest Artist. Cards are available for sale at the Information Centre and funds go to support the work of the Friends here in the park.

Some of my copper works along with the Cypress wildflower cards reproduced by The Friends of Cypress Hills as a legacy of my 2012 stay as Guest Artist. Cards are available for sale at the Information Center and funds go to support the work of the Friends here in the park.

Another view of the cabin

Another view of the cabin.

The few classes I have taught so far have gone well. There was a little slow start to begin with probably due to the fact that everyone is just enjoying the beautiful weather and the end of a busy school year. Canada Day was also this past weekend so there were lots of great activities planned for families visiting the park. My first acrylic class that required preregistration because of the class limit was very well attended this past Tuesday with 11 of the possible 12 maximum students signed up. Class preregistration (were there is a class limit can be made at the Artists’s Cabin during open studio hours 1:30 – 3:30 pm Wed.- Sat.). All fees collected for class registrations which includes your materials goes to the Friends of Cypress also! The next class I will be teaching in Lino Card Cutting. There is a class max. of 9 due to a limit on tools available. The class will be held at the white tents next to the information center on Sat. July 6th from 11 am – noon. The class is $7. / person and is open to those 7 years to adult. Children must be accompanied by an adult. In this class you will learn about this printing method and you will be able to make at least 2 cards and trade with others in the class if you wish.

Some of the ladies from the Wax Resist Acrylic class that I taught this past Tues. We painted a local wildflower called the Three Flowered Aven. I forgot to take a photo before the rest of the class left!

Some of the ladies from the Wax Resist Acrylic class that I taught this past Tues. We painted a local wildflower called the Three Flowered Aven. I forgot to take a photo before the rest of the class left!

A participant in my "Kitty Play" air drying clay class is putting finishing touches on her cougar head sculpture. Thanks to Ian the park interpreter who came out with a cougar pelt, paw print, sculls and more to show the families and for educating us on cougar safety.

A participant in my “Kitty Play” air drying clay class is putting finishing touches on her cougar head sculpture. Thanks to Ian the park interpreter who came out with a cougar pelt, paw print, sculls and more to show the families and for educating us on cougar safety.

Two girls from my "Great Sand Hills Sand Art" class make temporary sand art with real sand from the Sand Hills. The Great Sand Hills are a 1000 sq Km area of active sand dunes with some sand dunes being as high as 60 meters.  The Hills can be accessed north of the Trans Canada Highway on highway 21. Just drive 45 min. north and follow the signs to the hills until you reach a fence decorated by old cowboy boots!

Two girls from my “Great Sand Hills Sand Art” class make temporary sand art with real sand from the Sand Hills. The Great Sand Hills are a 1000 sq Km area of active sand dunes with some sand dunes being as high as 60 meters. The Hills can be accessed north of the Trans Canada Highway on highway 21. Just drive 45 min. north and follow the signs to the hills until you reach a fence decorated by old cowboy boots! It is about a 1 1/2 hour drive from Cypress Hills But well worth the trip! 

A photo of my daughter Tanis on one of our earlier trips to the Great Sand Hills of Saskatchewan. If you look closely there is an adult way in the distance at the center of the photo!

A photo of my daughter Tanis on one of our earlier trips to the Great Sand Hills of Saskatchewan. If you look closely there is an adult way in the distance at the center of the photo!

If you have not visited our Cypress Hills, I hope you will some day soon. It is lovely in all seasons!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

