Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Well it has been a little over 2 years since I began teaching for http://www.grumbacherart.com through the Michaels store in Regina, SK.  When I first received their invitation to teach by email, I thought is was spam and disregarded it. A month or so later, while presenting at a trade show, I ran across a friend who is the store’s framing manager. He told me that he had heard that the store was going to begin offering painting classes and that I should look into the email further. Am I ever glad I did! Besides being great extra income as a visual artist, I have come to meet so many new students who have become friends!  I really value too the connections to the over 700 Grumbacher instructors through out North America. Via a Facebook page for instructors only we share advice, resource material and lesson plans. I have been teaching 1 – 2 hour beginner class weekly and a 4 hour intermediate bi-weekly. I was pleased to have one  lesson plan I created, “Cancun Sunset”  edited by Grumbacher and offered to their instructors across North America.

seascape final

“Cancun Sunset” acrylic 9″ x 12″ copyright Nikki Jacquin http://www.nikkisportraits.com

With so many weekly classes, I have worked up quite a large number of lesson plans both for beginners and intermediate acrylic painters.  Each week as I prepare the class example, I am careful to photograph each step, notate colour recipes, and  specific art history or knowledge particular for that class project. I have a stack of 4 little coil ring notebooks just full of such notes. Now all I need is the time to type them up!

This past year I have been offering the following step by step lesson plan, “Duck Mountain” to those who subscribe to my newsletter at http://eepurl.com/gO5GD The lesson is suitable for those beginning to learn how to paint with acrylics. Specific colour recipes are given and all brush sizes listed are particular to the Grumbacher Acrylic line of brushes. (Note: a number 2 Grumbacher filbert brush is not the same size as a number 2 filbert of a different brand.) This is the .pdf file.   Duck Mountain SK Lesson Plan Seascape by N. Jacquin  Feel free to comment with any questions if you try this lesson. I would also like to see your final paintings!  In my in-person classes, I always suggest that students change elements or colours to make the painting their own if they like! Treat it as another learning experience and have fun with it! If it is your first ever painting be gentle with yourself and know that time and commitment will help you develop but it takes time and too there are many types and styles of painting. I have been trying to teach myself how to play the piano, for my own enjoyment. No one would pay me to play for them I can assure you, but that doesn’t take away from my enjoyment of learning this new skill. I just don’t expect myself to play a song perfectly the first time a sit at the piano with it. Do share with me your challenges and successes. I would love to hear from you!

032

“Duck Mountain” acrylic 9 ” x 12″ copyright Nikki Jacquin

In 2013 I plan to offer this lesson plan as my thanks for subscribing to the newsletter…

021 copy

“Wicker Heart” acrylic 9″ x 12″ copyright Nikki Jacquin

So if you would like the complete instructions for this beginner acrylic project, I hope you will subscribe at http://eepurl.com/gO5GD  for art event news, contests, art tips, and more! Happy New Year! Let 2013 be the year you start to learn how to expess yourself in paint!

